







THE NINETEENTH AEM PLUS THREE CONSULTATIONS 4 August 2016, Vientiane, Lao PDR

JOINT MEDIA STATEMENT

- 1. Economic Ministers from the ten ASEAN Member States and Economic Ministers of People's Republic of China ("China"), Japan, and Republic of Korea ("Korea") met on 4 August 2016 in Vientiane, Lao PDR for the Nineteenth AEM Plus Three Consultations. The Consultations were co-chaired by H.E. Mrs Khemmani Pholsena, Minister of Industry and Commerce of Lao PDR, H.E. Gao Hucheng, Minister of Commerce of China, Mr Tetsuya Watanabe, Director General of Multilateral Trade System Department, Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry of Japan, and H.E. Joo Hyunghwan, Minister of Trade, Industry, and Energy of Korea.
- 2. The Plus Three Countries commended the establishment of the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) in 2015 as a major milestone in regional economic integration. The Plus Three Countries also welcomed the new AEC Blueprint 2025, which envisages an AEC by 2025 that is highly integrated and cohesive; competitive, innovative and dynamic; with enhanced connectivity and sectoral cooperation; a more resilient, inclusive, and people-oriented, people-centred community; and integrated with the global economy.
- 3. The Ministers noted the strong trade and investment relations between ASEAN and the Plus Three Countries, amidst the uncertainty in global economic recovery. In 2015, ASEAN total trade with the Plus Three Countries amounting to USD 708.6 billion, accounting for 31.1 per cent of ASEAN's total trade. Total Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) flows from the Plus Three Countries into ASEAN valued at USD 31 billion in 2015, accounting for 26.0 per cent of the total FDI inflow to ASEAN.
- 4. The Ministers commended the East Asia Business Council (EABC) for its efforts to promote economic integration in the region. The Ministers noted the report by the EABC on the progress of its activities and its recommendations, which included continuing private sector's engagement in the East Asia economic integration and RCEP; building capacity and enhancing integration among East Asian MSMEs; and facilitating e-commerce development in East Asia.
- 5. The Ministers were pleased to note the collaboration among the EABC, ASEAN-China Centre, ASEAN-Japan Centre, and ASEAN-Korea Centre in promoting trade and investment in the larger context of the ASEAN Plus Three cooperation.

LIST OF MINISTERS

- 1. **The Hon. Pehin Dato Lim Jock Seng**, Minister at the Prime Minister's Office and Second Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Brunei Darussalam;
- 2. **H.E. Pan Sorasak**, Secretary of State, Ministry of Commerce, Cambodia;
- 3. **H.E. Gao Hucheng**, Minister of Commerce, China;
- 4. **Mr Iman Pambagyo**, Director General of International Trade Negotiations, Ministry of Trade, Indonesia (representing H.E. Enggartiasto Lukita, Minister of Trade, Indonesia);
- 5. **Mr Tetsuya Watanabe**, Director General, Multilateral Trade System Department, Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan (representing H.E. Hiroshige Seko, Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry of Japan;
- 6. **H.E. Joo Hyunghwan**, Minister of Trade, Industry and Energy, Republic of Korea;
- 7. **H.E. Mrs Khemmani Pholsena,** Minister of Industry and Commerce, Lao PDR;
- 8. **H.E. Dato' Sri Mustapa Mohamed,** Minister of International Trade and Industry, Malaysia;
- 9. **H.E. Kyaw Win,** Union Minister of Planning and Finance, Myanmar;
- 10. **H.E. Ramon M. Lopez,** Secretary of Trade and Industry, the Philippines;
- 11. **H.E. Lim Hng Kiang**, Minister for Trade and Industry (Trade), Singapore;
- 12. **H.E. Apiradi Tantraporn,** Minister of Commerce, Thailand;
- 13. **H.E. Tran Tuan Anh,** Minister of Industry and Trade, Viet Nam;
- 14. **H.E. Le Luong Minh**, Secretary-General of ASEAN.